Forestry Futures Trust Committee


Mission Statement:
  • To ensure a positive use of the Forestry Futures Trust Funds on the sustainablity of Ontario's Crown forests.


Guiding Principles:

  • to make objective decisions based on what is good for the forest
  • to operate with an open door policy



The FFTC is an independent organization that oversees the effective disbursement of FFT monies to restore and maintain the sustainability of Ontario’s Crown forests by:  
  • Promoting effective forest management that leads to forest sustainability;
  • Valuing and respecting the professional expertise of the forest community;
  • Engaging and committing to the accountability of  professional forest managers through applications, project  work reports, annual audits, and field visits;
  • Committing to the consistent achievement of effective forest management;
  • An open and transparent operational environment;
  • Maintaining a cost-effective approach to oversee the disbursement of funds from the Trust.
  •  Excellence and accountability
  • Mutual respect
  • Active participation by our partners
  • Consensus decision making
  • Transparency and openness
  • Fairness and equity (eg., all SFL holders have equal opportunity to access funds from the Trust)
  • Fiscal responsibility
  • Focus on the forest
Ray A Riley, P Eng., R. P. F. (Hon) – Member since February 2016
Ray holds degrees in geology from Acadia and Queens and has been a member of the Professional Engineers Ontario for over 40 years. He comes the FFT Committee after 30 years with the Ontario government culminating as Assistant Deputy Minister of Operations for Ontario’s Ministry of Natural Resources. Subsequent to his career in government he was active as a consultant for some 25 years focusing on natural resource management for the Forest Industry, First Nations, Ontario, and Canada.

Mike Barker: Member since 1999

Mike had a 32-year career with the Ontario government holding positions such as District Manager, Ministry of Natural Resources, and Assistant Deputy Minister, Northern Development and Mines. He now manages his own consulting firm.

Herb Bax, R.P.F.  -  Member since 2012. 

Herb is a forestry consultant with over 35 years experience.  He is the past president of the OPFA and has served on numerous international committees and boards.  Herb's work as and environmental and forest auditor across Canada and the US will bring an international perspective to the Committee.

W.D. (Bill)  Baker  -  Member since February 2016

Bill has had a 30 plus career in natural resource management primarily as a senior manager with the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources. Bill has worked throughout Ontario but has spent much of his career in Thunder Bay. After retiring in 2010, Bill shifted direction and spent time as a board member of the Northwestern Ontario Community Care Access Center.  He is thrilled to be involved in Ontario’s Forestry Futures Trust Committee.



James Harrison  -  Member since February 2016

James holds a Forestry Degree (1975) from Lakehead University. His 39 year career with industry included positions with Kimberly-Clark of Canada and Greenmantle Forest Inc. In his spare time, James volunteers as a driver with the Red Cross and enjoys golfing.

Dr. Sandy SmithMember since December 2016

Dr. Sandy Smith is a Professor in the Faculty of Forestry at the University of Toronto, serving as Dean (2010-2012). She specializes in forest health and urban forests, specifically natural controls to address invasive species. Sandy has published over 130 papers and reports, served as guest editor and reviewer for numerous refereed journals, NSERC panels, and on science panels to manage invasive insects such as the Asian Long-Horned Beetle (ALHB) and Emerald Ash Borer (EAB). Her research focuses on biological control of invasive forest insects, earthworms, and plants such as dog-strangling vine and Phragmites. Sandy has supervised over 50 graduate students and is currently a Fellow of the Royal Entomological Society, Past President of the Entomological Societies of Canada and Ontario, a Strategic Advisor to LEAF (Local Enhancement & Appreciation of Forests) and serves on the Boards of Tree Canada, Toronto Parks and Trees Foundation, and the Ontario Invasive Plant Council.


Past Members:


Bob Elliott R.P.F., completed his 10 year term March 31, 2016
Erik Wang R.P.F., completed his 5 year term March 31, 2016

Dr. Maureen Kershaw, R.P.F., founding member and Chair 2006-2015
Ric Monzon, R.P.F., completed his term in the fall of 2011.

Dr. David Balsillie, R.P.F. (Hon), completed his term December 2009.

Dr. John Naysmith, R.P.F., Thunder Bay, was the founding Chair.  Dr. Naysmith completed his term on June 30, 2006.

Rod Carrow, R.P.F., one of the founding members completed his term on June 30, 2006. He passed away in 2016.

Margaret Wanlin, one of the founding members completed her term on June 30, 2005.

Jack Stokes of Schreiber, Ontario, was a former Speaker of the House and one of the founding members of the FFT Committee. He passed away in 1999.









© 2000 - 2020 powered by
Doteasy Web Hosting